I’m a Believer

…blessed is she that believed… -Luke 1:45

Get to Gettin’! January 6, 2009

Throughout the holiday season, I found myself doing some serious “getting” !  I had to go GET groceries, go GET the kids, GET a gift for a party, GET ready to go.  People asked me “What are you GETTING for Christmas?”  I had to GET some things done.  I needed to GET my house clean, GET my Christmas tree, GET the ornaments down from the attic, GET the tree decorated.  With all that “getting” I also GOT tired!!!

As I was reading the Bible yesterday morning.  I came across this verse:

Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.  ~Proverbs 4:7

This verse really spoke to me.  First, because it was worded in a way that makes it humorous to me.  It sounds like something I would tell my kids – “Go get your backpack and everything you need, and with all your getting get your dirty clothes off the floor!” 

But as I looked at it further, I noticed that it really speaks to what needs to be first.  It says “Wisdom is the principal thing…”  The word that is translated “principal” means FIRST, BEGINNING, BEST, or CHOICE PART.  As I start 2009, I need to first seek wisdom.  I need to start from the beginning looking for wisdom.  I should know that wisdom is the best thing.   Wisdom should be the part that I choose first and foremost.  Wisdom is what I should be GETTING! 

And not only that, with all the time I’m getting all that wisdom, I need to get UNDERSTANDING.  I’ve found that it requires UNDERSTANDING to apply wisdom in any way that is helpful.  What good is all the wisdom in the world if I don’t understand how to use it or apply it?  The word UNDERSTANDING in this verse also means discernment.  Boy, do I need some discernment!  There are so many things I need to understand about God, about His word, about what His word says about me.  I also need understanding in dealing with other people.  I need to understand what their needs are.  I need to have discernment about how God would have me minister.  I need to understand what God is trying to teach me at any given time.  I NEED understanding!

I don’t do well with New Year’s resolutions, so this will be my New Year’s “revelation”: 

GET TO GETTIN’! 

This is going to mean spending more time in God’s word and at God’s side.   I do pray that God gives me the spirit of wisdom and that the eyes of my understanding will be enlightened so that I can KNOW what it is that He has for me and just how powerful our God is !

[17] That the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give unto you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of him: [18] The eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that ye may know what is the hope of his calling, and what the riches of the glory of his inheritance in the saints, [19] And what is the exceeding greatness of his power to us-ward who believe, according to the working of his mighty power,   ~Ephesians 1:17-19

Happy New Year!  Go get some wisdom, and while you’re at it, don’t forget the understanding!

For more on what you can get from God’s word, click here.

I’m a Believer!

Laura

 

10 Responses to “Get to Gettin’!”

  1. Ginger Says:

    Yes AMEN! Thanks for feeding me this morning! BTW: I can’t get your pastor’s pod casts to work in iTunes (any thoughts??). Will the ladies be featured as well? Hey, you know that’s my preference… ha!

    Sooo glad you’re back. Thanks for annnnother confirmation to spend more time with HIM!

    Ginger

  2. Lois Lane II Says:

    Haha! Good idea! I think we all need to get to getting!! 😉

  3. […] God is calling me to spend more time with Him, and with the recent posts by both Jenifriend and Laura, I am now pressing […]

  4. ministryaddict Says:

    As usual, your new blog is “par excellence.” We must be thinking alike, though, because the 8:30 devotion this Sunday is going to be Getting, Gathering, Gleaning, and Giving.

  5. Laura Says:

    Hey Ginger – is this the link you are clicking on for podcasts:

    http://sermon.net/sermons-River_Of_Life_Worship_Center-3792.html

    I know nothing about podcasts – so hope this helps.

    PS! Come visit us at church sometime soon & you won’t have to worry about podcasts…. 🙂

    Laura

  6. insertgracehere Says:

    She’s back!

    Good preachin’, Sister!

    I like your New Year’s “Revelation”!

  7. Laura Says:

    Yes, I’m back! Happy new year… actually I never left, but my brain did, I think!

    Love, LA

  8. Ginger Says:

    Not sure on the link b/c i deleted it after it wouldn’t work and maybe I will visit. BTW amen again on that quote and may He overflow those blessings of great work!!
    g

  9. […] Laura @ 9:21 am Tags: Bible, Devotional, get a grip, get a helmet, get a life In keeping with my “New Year’s Revelation,” here are a few more things we need to get, straight from God’s word.  (They would all make […]

  10. […] God is calling me to spend more time with Him, and with the recent posts by both Jenifriend and Laura, I am now pressing […]


Leave a Reply

