I’m a Believer

…blessed is she that believed… -Luke 1:45

A Titus 2 Woman? July 22, 2008

I came across At The Well a day late, but couldn’t resist posting on one of my favorite topics.  It’s my first linky thingy post…

The topic was “What does being a Titus 2 woman mean to you?”

But speak thou the things which become sound doctrine: That the aged men be sober, grave, temperate, sound in faith, in charity, in patience. The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things; That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.  ~Titus 2:1-5

As I consider the passage in Titus 2, I can say that up until recently I feel like I was on the receiving end of this scripture.  Early in my Christian walk (16  years ago) the Lord gently placed me in a church full of mature Christian women of sound doctrine.  I was graciously taught by the Word and by the actions of these ladies what a woman of God should look like.  These women were teachers of good things; their behavior was holy.  They weren’t given to ANY wine!  They spoke tenderly and kindly, even about difficult subjects and difficult people.  I tried to learn as they taught me to be serious about the things of God.  I watched as they loved their husbands and their children in ways I hadn’t known I was supposed to and in ways I wasn’t sure I was capable of.  As they graciously invited me into their homes, I was intimidated (translate: challenged) sometimes by their discretion, chastity, hospitality, and housekeeping!  I couldn’t believe the word “obedient” was used in the Bible regarding a husband and wife relationship.  😮 I saw them honor the Word of God in what they said and did.  Were they perfect?  I don’t THINK so…but they showed me that it is possible, with God’s power to really LIVE this Christian life!

I’m now 16 years down the road on my Christian walk.  I have a birthday tomorrow, and I’m rapidly heading towards the “aged women” category.  I am so far from perfect it is not even funny, but everything I was taught by these women of God has stayed with me.  I’ve tried to allow God to work in me so that my behavior has changed and is more becoming of holiness.  I desperately want to teach good things to other women and to my daughters (who will one day be women).  I have a deep desire for other women to have an understanding of Biblically loving their husbands and having a submissive heart with regard to their marriages.  I’m finding new ways to love my children every day.  Discretion and housekeeping…still weak spots for me, but I’m trying to be “good.”  I hold the Word of God in highest regard.  I’m always amazed at the depth and yet the simplicity of God’s plans for me.  I pray that one day something I have learned will be passed down to another young lady who is trying to figure out what it means to be a woman of God. 

As I’ve written this, I’ve realized that a true Titus 2 woman will turn out more Titus 2 women…wow!

For more entries on this topic, head on over to Joyfully Living for His Glory!

I’m a Believer!

Laura

 

7 Responses to “A Titus 2 Woman?”

  1. Chelsey Says:

    Laura,
    I am SO glad you are joining us at the Well. You have some wonderful insight and wisdom!!! And, might I just add – you are beautiful! 🙂 Love that picture on your side bar!!!

    I look forward to getting to know you better and seeing you at the well! 🙂

  2. Laura Says:

    Thanks Chelsey! I’m excited to be a part of At the Well.

    … and the pic was for our women’s conference brochure last year. One of my best friends took it – we all put flowers in our hair for fun 🙂

    Laura

  3. Willnette Says:

    Not joining jus tyet but will be stoppign by as I can. Love your definition of titus 2 woman. great comments

  4. laurie Says:

    I really enjoyed your thoughts on the TITUS 2 WOMAN. What a wonderful testimony of the women that poured into you early in your walk with God and that you now are pursuing to possess those same traits as you pour into those women you have influence over. Thanks for sharing and I will see you at THE WELL! -Blessings.

  5. Laura Says:

    Thanks for stopping by Laurie and Willnette and for the kind comments. Hope to get to know you better At The Well.

    I’m a Believer!
    Laura

  6. Karen Says:

    I really enjoyed reading your post. I’m looking forward to the discussions in the upcoming weeks!

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    Karen
    http://www.homesteadblogger.com/tagblog

  7. Denise Says:

    I really enjoyed your post, bless you.


Leave a Reply

