I’m a Believer

…blessed is she that believed… -Luke 1:45

Book Tag… Whatcha Readin’? July 7, 2008

Now ladies, help me out a bit here… I didn’t think I’d have to resort to this, but…. I tag RENA, GINGER & COURTNEY!  Y’all let us know what you are reading… Comment below.  Inquiring minds (at least mine) want to know.

I found something fun to try, so don’t cheat!  Please participate – it’ll be fun!

Here is how it works:

  1. Grab the book closest to you
  2. Open to page 123, go down to the fourth sentence
  3. Post the text of the following three sentences
  4. Name the author and book title
  5. Post your results on “comments”
  6. Post on your blog, and see what happens!

Here’s mine:

But far too often I find myslef turning my attention to the details and tasks of the day without first taking adequate time to “inquire of the Lord.”

When I do so, what I am really saying (though I’d never actually say it) is that I can handle that day on my own – apart from the presence, wisdom, and grace of God.  I am saying I can do my work, keep my home, handle my relationships, and deal with my circumstances without Him.

from Lies Women Believe and the Truth That Sets Them Free by Nancy Leigh DeMoss

This is a great book!  I highly recommend it to everyone.  This particular excerpt is from the chapter about the lies we have believed about priorities.  The particular lie addressed here is “I can make it without consistent time in the Word and prayer.”  Big lie! 

I can’t wait to read part of your books!

 

8 Responses to “Book Tag… Whatcha Readin’?”

  1. Ministry Addict Says:

    Awww, man, the Cat in the Hat Comes Back doesn’t have 123 pages – I can’t play.

  2. Ministry Addict Says:

    Just kidding.

    “The man calls Canaan “a land that floweth with milk and honey,” which is what God often called it. God gave His people a wonderful land that would meet their every need. During Israel’s years of wandering and rebellion, some of the Jews called Egypt “a land that floweth with milk and honey” (Numbers 16:13). It’s tragic when people are so unspiritual that the things of the world are more inviting than the things of the Lord.”

    This is from Be Equipped by Warren W. Wiersbe.

  3. Rena Says:

    “To operate your seatbelt, insert the metal tab into the buckle, and pull tight. It works just like every other seatbelt, and if you don’t know how to operate one, you probably shouldn’t be out in public unsupersived.”

    “Should the cabin lose pressure, oxygen masks will drop from the overhead area.”

    from Uncle John’s Curiously Compelling Bathroom Reader (19th Edition) by The Bathroom Reader’s Institute. This was taken from the topic Mile-High Comedians. These were actual airplane announcements. The header was intitled: Preparing For Takeoff.

    There! You asked! 😉 Oh, I have lots of books…plenty of books. And, yes, I read more than one at a time quite often. The Bathroom Readers just happen to be some of our favorites. And it was close. You know, the bathroom is next to my computer desk. 🙂

  4. […] July 12, 2008 at 6:13 pm · Filed under randomness and tagged: book tag, Uncle John’s Bathroom Readers I’ve been tagged by Laura!  […]

  5. Ginger Says:

    Are you sure you want the book closest to me. I’m in the office so my current book is not next to me. This is what I pulled from the shelf… Are you ready?

    If not then it’s just this simple. You are not born again and you are destined for the things that I have discussed in this chapter. Darkness leading down into the center of the earth and being tormented in flames of fire awaits you.

    Death and Eternity

    By Robert W. Jenkins

    (Even without the whole book, that should scare anyone to salvation!)

    This book is a must read. It gives a detailed account of death and the afterlife. It is completely scripture based and is an excellent source for both the believer and non believer. If you’ve got questions, this book has answers.

  6. Ginger Says:

    Oh! Laura, please pass your current book to me when you’ve finished. I would so love to read it!

  7. Courtney Says:

    I had three books in a stack right beside me when I got this tag. They were my bible, Holiness by JC Ryle, and My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers. I went with the last, as it was on top.

    “Moses endured, not because he had an ideal of right and duty, but because he had a vision of God. He “endured, as seeing Him Who is invisible.” A man with the vision of God is not devoted to a cause or to any particular issue; he is devoted to God Himself. You always know when the vision is of God because of the inspiration that comes with it; things come with largeness and tonic to the life because everything is energized by God.”

    Sorry this took so long. I spent the weekend at a hotel in town with my oldest daughter.

  8. Laura Says:

    Thanks Courtney, Rena & Ginger! Pretty fun…

    Court – hope you had a good time…

    Laura


Leave a Reply

