I’m a Believer

…blessed is she that believed… -Luke 1:45

Heavenly To Do List July 1, 2008

Hey!  Where have I been?  The past few weeks have been some of the busiest I’ve had since last Christmas season.  It sure seems like everything happens at one time – not just to me, but to those around me too!

I have to thank my friend Ladon for praying for me as she saw me on one of my nutty days…  She prayed “And Lord, please help Laura get all her thoughts in one basket.”  How did she know?!!  Was it so obvious that all my thoughts were lurking in super secret hiding places all around the room like so many abandoned plastic eggs weeks after Easter?  I mean, really, how difficult can it be to calculate everything that needs to be done in the space of two weeks?  It is so easy to get overwhelmed looking at the big picture (and I am a “big picture” kind of person).

Seriously, is it really possible to fry chicken for Father’s Day lunch (major undertaking), train VBS staff, move all the chairs out of the sanctuary, set up for VBS, host a slumber party complete with decorations and homemade cake  (aaahh!!), register 75 children for VBS, get groceries with all three kids, clean the house, mess up the house, direct VBS, go to McD’s 3 times in one week, enjoy VBS, move the chairs back into the sanctuary, wish I was at the house, plan the closing for VBS, move all the chairs out of the sanctuary and back in one more time (ok I delegated the chair moving, but I did supervise!), provide adequate comfort for my friend who lost her brother, pray for my friend who is worried about a mammogram, attend a funeral, oh – did I mention Vacation Bible School? -breathe, wear deodorant,  change my underwear, find the hairbrush, and remember that I also have a husband – all in the space of a week and a half?  The answer is YES!

As I have been studying about truth, I have also studied about the lies that I have believed.  These lies have been with me for so long that many times I don’t even recognize them as lies.  One of these lies is … are you ready?  I DON’T HAVE TIME TO DO EVERYTHING I’M SUPPOSED TO DO.  If this doesn’t seem like a lie to you, perhaps you have believed it for so long it has become a friend to you, an easy excuse for being tired, grumpy, overwhelmed, underproductive.  Nevertheless it is a lie.  As with all lies, if we can counter that lie with truth, it will help us be victorious in walking in truth.  So, how do we contradict this, when all evidence seems to say that it may very well be the case that 24 hours may not be enough time to accomplish everything on our “to do list?”

Here is the secret – There is enough time in my day to do EVERYTHING GOD HAS CALLED ME TO DO.  Simple, isn’t it?  So obvious, yet fairly elusive when we get into the craziness of a hectic season.  There may not be time in the day to do what others have called me to do, or what I have taken upon myself (that is not my job) to do, but there is absolutely time in every day to fulfill the calling of God Almighty.

Faithful is he that calleth you, who also will do it.  1 Thessalonians 5:24

It is urgent that each and every day we spend time with the Lord asking him what He would have us do with the time that He gives us.  If we don’t check in with Him on a regular basis, how are we going to know what is on His to do list?

I would like to encourage you (and I’d appreciate it if you would remind me when you see that my thoughts are not all in one basket) to turn your to do list over to God every day and let Him prioritize the time He has provided.

Trust in Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.  Proverbs 3:5

I pray that I will hear the voice of the Lord when He has an assignment for me, even when my to do list is long and my resource list is short.  He knows what’s in my refrigerator, my gas tank, my bank account, and most importantly, my heart.  He has access to all this and more.  He will be my strength, my source, and my shield.  He will even make my to do list.

I’m a Believer!

Laura

 

7 Responses to “Heavenly To Do List”

  1. Ety W. Says:

    Excellent post! It reminds me that somewhere, a seemingly long time ago, I remember reading about distinguishing the difference between things which are urgent and things which are important. They aren’t always the same. For example, I may feel the urgency to get an overdue library book returned, but that’s not as important as a child that needs my patient guidance or understanding. Thinking of it as a heavenly to do list is a good way to help keep it all in perspective.

  2. Ministry Addict Says:

    Don’t forget front yard lemonade sale.

  3. Laura Says:

    Was that during that same time frame? Good grief! We did a year’s worth of activities in 2 weeks!!!

    La

  4. insertgracehere Says:

    SHE’S BACK! And your experience has made for great blogging material! It also made me chuckle AND guffaw! I KNOW- GUFFAW!

    Oh, Laura, this is so important DAILY! Yet, I struggle. WHY? If I will just go to Him first, and get my Heavenly to-do list, you’re so right, it’s doable! You have my permission, I mean, I urge you to remind me as well! 😉

    Hope your next few weeks are relaxing and refreshing. Hey maybe even so much that we can get together.

  5. Laura Says:

    Hi Ety – There was an essay written 30 or more years ago called “The Tyranny of the Urgent”. That may be what you are thinking of. I’ve heard it referred to for years, but I’ve never had the opportunity to read it. I’d like to find it. I think it’s by someone named Hummel? I’ll have to google it.

    I’m a Believer!
    LAURA

  6. Laura Says:

    oh – and thanks for the reminder about my overdue library books!!!

  7. […] house all day, potty training, paying bills, blah, blah, blah!  I have been trying to focus on my Heavenly To-Do List.  But alas, I am at the end of a long day with an aching back and legs, whiny and irritable.  […]


Leave a Reply

