I’m a Believer

…blessed is she that believed… -Luke 1:45

Rising up to call her blessed… May 13, 2008

I don’t know that a Mother’s Day post 2 days late is ok, but if my mom knows me well (and she does!), she would expect nothing less from her procrastinating daughter.  I’ve been thinking a lot about motherhood lately.  Mostly because I have a teenage daughter & 2 younger girls, so I’m looking at women who appear to be older than me to see if I really am going to survive these next few years!

In talking to moms of all ages, I have encountered many different opinions of motherhood, being a mother, having a mother, and wishing they never were a mother.  From my personal perspective, with every single day of motherhood that passes, I appreciate more and more the mercy and grace my mother showed me and the sacrifices she chose to make for me.

Wedding Day 12-21-1991One thing in particular I was reminded of was my wedding gown preparation.  In planning for my wedding, I was having my dress made.  The lace that I wanted was beautifully beaded with seed pearls and sequins.  However, it was far too expensive to buy it already beaded.  We decided to purchase the same lace, but without the beads.  Mom & I would bead the lace by hand in time for it to be given to the seamstress to put on the dress.  With me being the busy 21-year-old “woman on the go” with a job and a fiance, I didn’t seem to be able to find the time to do something so tedious as gluing beads and sequins.  “I will, I will!” I continually promised.  So, while I really wanted that beaded lace, I was simply not willing to pay the price for what I really wanted.  I was neither mature enough nor capable of doing what it would take to have what I desired.  My mother, however, with a 4-year-old toddler and two rotten (just kidding – only one was rotten!) teenage sons, selflessly, painstakingly embellished the wedding gown, so that her self-centered, immature daughter, would feel beautiful on her wedding day.  Mom was willing to pay the price for what I was too immature to take care of.  I’m so grateful.  My gown was beautifully beaded by Mom’s loving hands, and just what I had dreamed of.

The Bible tells us a bit about our wedding garment, as the bride of Christ:

Let us be glad and rejoice, and give honour to him: for the marriage of the Lamb is come, and his wife hath made herself ready.  And to her was granted that she should be arrayed in fine linen, clean and white: for the fine linen is the righteousness of saints.  Revelation 19:7-8

The two things I noticed about the wedding garment is that it was “granted” to the bride and that it is the “righteousness of saints.”  It was given to her as a gift, it was not formed by her own hands.  The Bible tells me that in myself, I have no righteousness, I have only the righteousness that has been given and prepared for me by Jesus Christ.

I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, my soul shall be joyful in my God; for He hath clothed me with the garments of salvation, He hath covered me with the robe of righteousness. Isaiah 61:10

So, our gowns, our fine linen robes of righteousness, have not been prepared by our hands, because we are incapable of paying the price for that which we so desire.  Jesus had to pay that price.  He paid that price, and extends the gift of the wedding garment to each of us.  We only need accept it.

As I reflect on Jesus’s preparation of our gowns, and my mom working tirelessly to make something beautiful for me when I couldn’t do it myself, I see such a parallel.  What a beautiful Christlike gesture my mother demonstrated to me – such grace for both of them to give me what I didn’t deserve and couldn’t accomplish on my own.

I’m reminded of the Proverbs 31 woman:

She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness. She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness. Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her. Many daughters have done virtuously, but thou excellest them all. Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised. Proverbs 31:26-30

And so, today, two days after Mother’s Day, I rise up and call her blessed.  And while I’m at it, I’ll call myself blessed for being being her daughter & learning how to be “Mom” from one of the greats!  Thank you Mom for your continuous demonstration of the kind of mother I want to be.  I love you!

I’m A Believer!

Laura

To read about my Daddy, click here.

 

7 Responses to “Rising up to call her blessed…”

  1. Laura Says:

    There’s another great post on someone else’s blog (that looks like mine, but it’s not) that complements this post…

    http://solagratia2.wordpress.com/2008/03/29/whose-clothes-are-you-wearing/

    Laura

  2. Courtney Says:

    I love this, Laura! What a beautiful story of a mother’s love for her daughter. It does closely parallel Christ and us as His bride. I have 2 daughters, 10 & 16, and 3 sons, 12, 12, and 14. My relationship with my mom wasn’t like yours, but it makes me so thankful that I have close relationships with my girls. They are always giving me little love notes and it blesses me beyond measure. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful testimony of your mother’s love.

  3. insertgracehere Says:

    This makes me want to cry….so beautiful, Laura… the story and the pic!

  4. […] read about my Mommy, click here.) Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Daddy Dearesthappy 61st, dad.10 Things I Wish My […]

  5. Ginger Says:

    Oh, how I am so glad you linked this post! I agree with Rena. This is so beautiful! I never noticed any of that about the wedding gown, and yes yours is beautiful! What a way to bring out His love while blessing your mom.

    How awesome is that?! She sooooo loves you!! (I wouldn’t do that for you… ha!)

    Ginger

  6. […] My wife’s mother, who has been married to the same man for almost fifty years, gives this marriage advice: “If you want your marriage to work, you must be hard-headed about the right things.” Generally speaking, the expression “hard-headed” means stubbornness. I think what she means is, though, that when times get tough in your marriage, you need to be downright stubborn about keeping the vows you made before God, and committing to stay together and work through the difficulties, no matter what. […]

  7. […] 5:14). Help them to see that the intelligence and determination you’ve blessed them with would be more than sufficient for heading up a corporation or organizing a movement or building an enterprise (Proverbs […]


Leave a Reply

