I’m a Believer

…blessed is she that believed… -Luke 1:45

Here’s Your Sign – (What’s an Ebenezer?) April 24, 2008

Wow!  I had no idea…Someone at the LA DOTD must have read my blog and felt sorry for me!  Just one week after my cakes were crushed on the way to church (see previous post Crushed & Shattered Dreams) this is what appeared on the side of the road (complete with BLINKING LIGHTS!), just before the EXACT spot where the “incident” occurred.  

To me it is a funny thing; to my husband I think it is more like a depressing roadside memorial.  It makes me grin each time I pass it on the way to church.  It makes him cringe.  To me it is a reminder not to get upset over small things (smashed cake), to forgive quickly (the driver), to know what’s really important (not cake!), oh yeah – and to take the curve at 30 MPH.  I’ll have to ask him what it is a reminder of when he looks at it (probably my “mean face” or my hissy fit).

You know, I believe God is pleased for us to have reminders of both  our defeats (whether induced by self or enemy) and our victories that come by His hand.  I believe it is a faith builder to remember how far we have come by God’s grace, and it is an absolute necessity that we remember the spiritual lessons we have learned along the way. 

In the Old Testament, the Israelites set up stones as memorials of great victories given to them by God’s mighty outstretched arm.  Many times God commanded them to do so.  This was not only to remind themselves of the past, but to give testimony to anyone in the future who might one day ask “Hey, what’s that stone doing there?”  Samuel set up a memorial when God delivered he and his army a victory in battle. 

Then Samuel took a stone, and set it between Mizpeh and Shen, and called the name of it Ebenezer, saying, Hitherto hath the LORD helped us.  1 Samuel 7:12

I like this story because I love victorious endings, and, besides that, I just like saying “Ebenezer.”

Thanks DOTD for my Ebenezer!

I’m a Believer!

 

8 Responses to “Here’s Your Sign – (What’s an Ebenezer?)”

  1. Ministry Addict Says:

    “A wicked and adulterous generation seeketh after a sign…” Matthew 16:4

    I wonder if your husband sighs deeply within his spirit when he sees this sign. (Mark 8:12)

  2. Laura Says:

    I don’t know – YOU tell ME! ;X

  3. Courtney Says:

    I have to agree, Laura. It has been a precious thing for me to look back over my life and see where God has grown me through the hard times, and rejoiced with me in good times. It is good to remember His faithfulness toward us…always.

    Courtney

  4. Rena Says:

    I love this story…especially NOW, with Cammie leaving on wet road towards Port Vincent for the first time by herself. PRAY…
    My sister has referred to her son’s father for many years as “Ebenezer”- as in “Scrooge”. My mom quickly reminded her not long ago what it meant and that she should realize the provision of the Lord made through this “Ebenezer”. Amazing difference it made.

  5. Laura Says:

    Courtney – You are so right…His faithfulness is something we should never forget!

    Rena – I haven’t tried out the blinking lights at night yet – I bet my Ebenezer shines brightly!! LOL! I’m sure Cam will do just fine on that road!

    Thanks for commenting!
    Laura

  6. […] Lectures are good. Bible study devotions are good. But one of the greatest areas of training is just in day to day living. Take some time out – spend time with your children. There should not be a difference between “God time” and “real life” in our families. With God’s help, you can make a Bible lesson out of swimming in a lake, hitting a softball, or teaching a teen-aged child how to drive a car. […]

  7. […] Hudson Taylor used to say that Christians live between Ebenezer and Jehovah Jireh. Ebenezer: So far the Lord has provided. Jehovah Jireh: the Lord will see to it. […]

  8. This story has become funnier with the passage of time.


Leave a Reply

