I’m a Believer

…blessed is she that believed… -Luke 1:45

I Love it When a Plan Comes Together… April 1, 2008

Today our Tuesday Bible study group finished Beth Moore’s Breaking Free study.  It was my first Beth Moore study, and it was fantastic.  It was a stretch for all of us “Tuesday Morning Ladies”  because we have been “doing Bible study” the same way for as many years as I’ve been at River of Life, and this was a little different.  What I’m saying is it kinda cramped our style :-0!  But every week the study went down deep into my soul.  The word of God was presented so sweetly and specifically that I know I have been changed on the inside by the gentle cutting of the Sword of the Spirit.  (You know, it’s always that first prodding that is so startlingly painful …)

There has been such confirmation throughout this entire study, and this final week was no exception.  I traveled to the Celebration of Women Conference (with my mom & sis-in-law – fun!) in Alexandria (if you go you have to eat at The Cottage) at Calvary Baptist Church and was tremendously blessed by the teachings and especially by Kim Hill, as she led worship.  In fact, I found the theme song for our upcoming beach retreat!   I Have to Believe is a beautifully soulful song that Kim sang that summed up perfectly what God has been impressing on my heart. 

Throughout the weekend, the speakers really focused in on believing the Word of God above all else.  We learned about the word aman – a Hebrew word used in the old testament, and still used today as amen.  Translated, it means TRUTH, or I BELIEVE THAT IS THE TRUTH.  Amen!  And then, lo and behold,  at our last Breaking Free meeting today,  as we were wathching our final Beth Moore video, she zeroed in on that same word.  Amen (again!)!  She emphasized the importance of living in the TRUTH – God’s truth and our truth (“our truth” meaning where we have come from and realisitically where we are right now).  Let me just say I love it when a plan comes together – especially His plan!!!

Sweet confirmation of what I know to be true – I HAVE TO BELIEVE.  I HAVE TO BELIEVE THE TRUTH.  I HAVE TO BELIEVE ALL THE TRUTH.  I HAVE TO BELIEVE ALL THE TRUTH ALL THE TIME.

I’m a Believer!
Laura

 

2 Responses to “I Love it When a Plan Comes Together…”

  1. Rena Says:

    Keep it comin’ Sister! You’ve inspired me…hopefully I’ll be blogging soon…

  2. Laura Says:

    Rena – Thanks for the comment… I’m gonna bribe you with a recipe on here shortly. 🙂 Get your blog goin’ so I won’t feel weird.
    -LA


Leave a Reply

